John Lithgow, Matt Smith Cast in Netflix's 'The Crown'

John Lithgow Headshot - P 2012

John Lithgow Headshot - P 2012

Netflix has found its leading men and women for its upcoming original series The Crown.

The royal drama, which follows the decades-spanning inside story of Queen Elizabeth II and the prime ministers who shaped Britain’s post-war destiny, has cast Claire Foy (Wolf Hall) as Her Majesty, Matt Smith (Dr. Who) as Philip Mountbatten, Duke of Edinburgh, and John Lithgow (Third Rock from the Sun) as Sir Winston Churchill.

The series will explore the most famous addresses in the world – Buckingham Palace and 10 Downing Street – along with the intrigues, love lives and machinations behind the events that shaped the second half of the 20th century. 

Each season will focus on the delicate balance between the Queen's private world and public life. Season one begins with a 25-year-old princess faced with the daunting prospect of leading the most famous monarchy in the world while forging a relationship with the domineering, war-hardened prime minister, Churchill.

The Crown reunites writer Peter Morgan (The Queen, Frost/Nixon) with director Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot, The Hours) and producer Andy Harries (The Queen). Stephen Daldry, Philip Martin and Julian Jarrold will direct episodes from scripts by Morgan, which are inspired by the Helen Mirren-starring play The Audience.

The period show is produced by Left Bank Pictures in association with Sony Pictures Television. Morgan, Daldry, Martin, Harries, Suzanne MackieTanya Seghatchian, Robert Fox and Matthew Byam-Shaw serve as executive producers, and Andrew Eaton producer.

All ten episodes of The Crown will premiere in all Netflix territories in 2016.