Lee Daniels' 'Star' Gets Additional Season 2 Episode Order at Fox

The network has greenlighted five more episodes of the girl-group drama.
Carin Baer/FOX

Fox is sticking with Star.

The network has ordered five additional episodes of Lee Daniels' girl-group drama, The Hollywood Reporter has learned.

The order brings Star's season two total to 18 episodes  the same as Daniels' other Fox music drama, Empire.

The news comes two weeks into Star's season two run, where it is now being paired with Empire on Wednesdays. So far, the experiment seems to be working, with ratings jumping 20 percent for the season two premiere versus the season one finale. According to Fox, the season two opener has amassed more than 7.5 million multiplatform viewers, with seven days of delayed viewing factored in.

Although Star originally launched out of Empire's midseason finale in December 2016, the series took over Empire's time slot for the majority of its freshman 13-episode run and was instead paired with Lethal Weapon.

When Fox announced the two music dramas would air back-to-back on Wednesday nights, it did so with a live musical performance at its own annual upfront presentation featuring stars from both series. Additionally, the two casts teamed for a crossover music video and new rendition of Empire's season one hit "You're So Beautiful." The season four and season two premieres of Empire and Star, respectively, also saw the two shows cross over, with Star's Queen Latifah appearing on Empire and Empire's Jussie Smollett stopping by Star.

Behind the scenes, the additional order comes after Star changed showrunners for a third time ahead of season two. Grey's Anatomy vet Karen Gist replaced season one showrunner Chuck Pratt, who in turn replaced original showrunner Charles Murray.

Gist executive produces with Star co-creators Daniels and Tom Donaghy, as well as Pamela Oas Williams. 20th Century Fox Television, where Daniels is under a rich overall deal, produces the series.

Queen Latifah and Benjamin Bratt lead a cast that includes Jude Demorest, Brittany O'Grady, Ryan Destiny, Amiyah Scott, Quincy Brown. Miss Lawrence, Luke James and Michael Michele.