Fox Cuts Order for Midseason Drama 'Lookinglass'

The drama will now only produce 11 episodes.
Courtesy of FOX

Fox is reducing the order for one of its forthcoming dramas.

The order for midseason entry Lookinglass has been trimmed to 11 episodes, The Hollywood Reporter has confirmed.

Sources cited the several other dramas already taking up space on Fox's schedule, namely Empire, Gotham, Rosewood, Bones and Sleepy Hollow, as well as upcoming additions like The X-Files revival and Lucifer. Midseason will also see the premiere of the final season of American Idol, which takes up a sizable amount of primetime real estate.

However, the reduced order comes after other creative adjustments to the series, which changed its name from The Frankenstein Code to Lookinglass in late August. Through much of the development process, the project was simply known as Frankenstein because of its similarities in premise to the Mary Shelley novel.

From prolific producer Howard Gordon (Homeland, 24) and Rand Ravich (Crisis), the drama revolves around Ray Pritchard, a 75-year-old morally corrupt retired cop who is given a second chance at life when a pair of young tech scientists bring him back from the dead as a 35-year-old. Ray (True Blood's Rob Kazinsky) returns with unpredictable and near-superhuman abilities. The series hails from Gordon's Teakwood Lane Productions and 20th Century Fox Television.

Lookinglass is the latest freshman series to see its episode count reduced. NBC, in a similar inventory move, downsized midseason comedies Hot & Bothered and Superstore. Trimming a show's episode count before it premieres is rarely a good sign, but the increased push for year-round scripted originals makes schedules even more of a puzzle when factoring in fall back-nines.

Meanwhile, fall underperformers Minority Report (Fox) and Blood & Oil (ABC), as well as NBC's The Player and Truth Be Told all saw their episode counts reduced. 

A premiere date for Lookinglass has yet to be determined.