Sony Pictures Television Names Diverse Directors Program Finalists

The eight chosen individuals will be assigned to work on shows including 'The Blacklist,' 'Timeless' and 'The Goldbergs.'
AP Images

Sony Pictures Television has picked eight directors as finalists for its Diverse Directors Program. Now in its fourth year, the initiative provides opportunities for people of diverse backgrounds to work with established television directors on Sony TV series.

The 2017 fellows are Allison Turner, Melissa Hickey, Daniel Willis, Tiffany Paulsen, Tanuj Chopra, Milena Govich, Ryan Brown and Joel Novoa. Each person will be assigned to work on Sony TV shows including The Blacklist, Timeless, The Goldbergs, Atypical, Preacher, Cobra Kai, Kevin Can Wait and S.W.A.T.

“Year after year, Sony Pictures Television is lucky to welcome some of the most creative minds in the industry to our team through the Diverse Directors Program. We look forward to working with these accomplished individuals and opening our doors to new voices,” Jeffrey Glaser, executive vp U.S. current programming at Sony Pictures Television Studios, said Wednesday in a statement.

“Each year we’re more impressed with the caliber of talent submitted, and we’re honored and grateful to support this incredible talent on their journey,” added Brett King, vp creative programming and diversity and inclusion at Sony Pictures Entertainment.

Sony TV received nearly 250 submissions for the program. Several of them were selected to take part in intensive episodic directing workshops with working directors, production personnel and entertainment professionals. The finalists were then chosen from that smaller pool of candidates.