TNT's 'Snowpiercer' Reboot Adds Tony Winner Lena Hall (Exclusive)

Lena Hall
Getty Images

Lena Hall in a Zac Posen dress at the Becks premiere on June 15.

TNT's Snowpiercer reboot has enlisted the services of a Tony winner and Grammy nominee.

Lena Hall, who earned a Tony for her role as Yitzhak in 2014's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, has joined the cast of the drama pilot.

Based on the 2013 film starring Chris Evans and Tilda SwintonSnowpiercer is described as a futuristic thriller set seven years after the world has become a frozen wasteland and the remnants of humanity inhabit a gigantic, perpetually moving train that circles the globe. Class warfare, social injustice and the politics of survival are questioned in this riveting television adaptation.

Hall will star as Sayori, the train’s archivist who is responsible for maintaining the continuity, be it in the form of oral histories, meticulous written records or ensuring key roles necessary for its continuous travels are always filled. She is a crucial member of the Train’s upper management.

Hall, who becomes the second Tony winner in the Snowpiercer cast after Hamilton's Daveed Diggs, also earned a Grammy nomination for Hedwig's official album. Snowpiercer is her first TV role. She was most recently seen in indie feature Becks. She's repped by ICM and Robyn Ziegler Management.

She joins a cast that includes Jennifer Connelly (A Beautiful Mind), Diggs, Mickey Sumner (Frances Ha), Alison Wright (The Americans), Roberto Urbina (Narcos), Katie McGuinness (Roots), Benjamin Haigh (The Conjuring 2, Genius), Annalise Basso (Captain Fantastic), Sasha Frolova (The Empty Man, Red Sparrow) and Susan Park (Vice Principals).

Doctor Strange's Scott Derrickson will exec produce and direct the pilot, which is a co-production between Tomorrow Studios and Turner's Studio T.  Josh Friedman (Avatar 4Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles) is penning the pilot and will serve as showrunner; Tomorrow Studios' Marty Adelstein (Good Behavior) and Becky Clements (Last Man Standing) as well as the original film's Bong Joon-ho, Park Chan-wook, Lee Tae-hun and Dooho Choi, along with CJ Entertainment will exec produce.