'Walking Dead' Promotes Trio to Series Regular for Season 8

The Walking Dead S07E10 Still 1 - Publicity - H 2017
Gene Page/AMC

The Walking Dead's universe continues its annual repopulation.

Following a seventh season that parted ways with four series regulars, the AMC zombie drama has promoted Steven Ogg (Simon), Katelyn Nacon (Enid) and Pollyanna McIntosh (Jadis) to full-time roles.

All told, the list of series regulars for season eight now stands at 19, with the trio joining Andrew Lincoln (Rick), Chandler Riggs (Carl), Norman Reedus (Daryl), Melissa McBride (Carol), Lennie James (Morgan), Lauren Cohan (Maggie), Danai Gurira (Michonne), Alanna Masterson (Tara), Josh McDermitt (Eugene), Christian Serratos (Rosita), Seth Gilliam (Father Gabriel), Ross Marquand (Aaron), Austin Amelio (Dwight), Tom Payne (Jesus), Xander Berkeley (Gregory) and Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Negan).

Season seven featured the largest cast of series regulars with 20 and killed off four central characters: Steven Yeun's Glenn, Michael Cudlitz's Abraham, Spencer (Austin Nichols) and Sonequa Martin-Green's Sasha, the latter of whom was written out in the finale.

The promotions come as season eight is poised to feature the All-Out War arc from creator Robert Kirkman's comics in which Rick and his group battle Negan's Saviors and, in a remix of the comics, Jadis' group of so-called Heapsters.

Ogg plays Negan's right-hand man Simon, the not-so-dastardly No. 2 of the Saviors; McIntosh's Jadis is the head of the Heapsters, the group that double-crossed Rick and ultimately is loyal to Negan; and Nacon is Enid, a teenager who helps fill the void of Sophia, the girl who in the comics becomes a daughter to Maggie after Carol's death. All three characters were recurring.

The Walking Dead returns in October. A specific premiere date will be announced in July at Comic-Con.

For more Walking Dead coverage, bookmark THR.com/WalkingDead.