'Watchmen' Rules 2020 TV Critic Awards Winners

Soundscapes-WATCHMEN - Publicity still - H 2020
Courtesy of HBO

HBO's Watchmen swept the Television Critics Association's 2020 Awards.

Presented for the first time without a ceremony after the summer in-person tour was effectively canceled amid the pandemic, the 36th annual TCA Awards handed out honors to the limited series from Damon Lindelof for program of the year, new program, miniseries and achievement in drama for star Regina King.

HBO, which topped all platforms with 16 total nominations, also took home prizes in the sketch/variety category, for Robin Thede's A Black Lady Sketch Show, and for achievement in drama, for Succession.

The final season of Pop TV's critical favorite Schitt's Creek also took home two prizes, including individual achievement in comedy for Catherine O'Hara and for comedy series. Alex Trebek was recognized as the TCA's prestigious Career Achievement honoree, while Star Trek was given the Heritage Award.

Netflix, which was the second-most nominated outlet with 10, took home one award, for achievement in reality programming, for Cheer.

"Entertainment and culture are intertwined and in this challenging year, never has that intersection been more crucial as both a mirror to examine tough reflections and a rabbit hole to escape the noise and scares outside our homes. The 2019-2020 television season was both a challenge and a balm,” said Sarah Rodman, TCA president and executive editor at EW. “This year offered up many high-quality options appealing to a wide swath of audiences with eclectic subjects ranging from sports and superheroes, to side-splitting sitcoms, darkly fascinating dramas, insightful documentaries, kid-friendly series, and more. We are excited to see what the future of television has in store, and we look forward to celebrating in-person next year as we come together to honor this medium that means so much to all of us.”

The awards were voted on by more than 250 television critics and journalists from the U.S. and Canada.

A full list of winners follows. Individual Achievement In Drama: Regina King (Watchmen, HBO)
Individual Achievement In Comedy: Catherine O’Hara (Schitt's Creek, Pop TV)
Outstanding Achievement In News and Information: The Last Dance (ESPN)
Outstanding Achievement In Reality Programming: Cheer (Netflix)
Outstanding Achievement In Youth Programming: Molly of Denali (PBS Kids)
Outstanding Achievement In Sketch/Variety Shows: A Black Lady Sketch Show (HBO)
Outstanding New Program: Watchmen (HBO)
Outstanding Achievement In Movie, Miniseries, Or Special: Watchmen (HBO)
Outstanding Achievement In Drama: Succession (HBO)
Outstanding Achievement In Comedy: Schitt's Creek (Pop TV)
Program of the Year: Watchmen (HBO)
Career Achievement Honoree: Alex Trebek
Heritage Award: Star Trek (CBS)