11 nab AMPAS student nods


Students from New York's School of Visual Arts, New York University, Stanford University and Florida State University were among the 11 Student Academy Awards winners recognized Saturday at the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

While the winners knew they would each receive an award, the level of their specific award -- gold, silver or bronze -- was not revealed until the ceremony, which featured actress Zooey Deschanel, director John Landis and Academy president Sid Ganis as presenters at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

In the alternative category, only one prize was awarded: a gold medal to Kun-I Chang of New York's School of Visual Arts for "Fission."

In the animation category, the gold medal was a tie between NYU's Sarah Wickliffe for "Art's Desire" and School of Visual Art's Youngwoong Jang for "Mirage." Bevin Carnes, of Ringling College of Art and Design in Sarasota, Fla., took the bronze medal for "A Leg Up."

In the documentary category, the winners were: gold medal, "Cross Your Eyes Keep Them Wide," Ben Wu, Stanford; silver, "Ladies of the Land," Megan Thompson, NYU; and bronze, "Lumo," Bent-Jorgen S. Perlmutt and Nelson Walker III, Columbia University.

In the narrative category, the winners were: gold, "Rundown," Patrick Alexander, Florida State; silver, "High Maintenance," Phillip Van, NYU; and bronze, "Screening," Anthony Green, NYU.

Toke Constantin Hebbeln of Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany, took the honorary foreign film prize for "Nevermore."

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.