'12 Years a Slave,' 'Fruitvale Station' Among Remaining Nominees for Gotham Audience Award

The top five contenders will face off in the second round to determine a winner; voting begins Friday.

The films 12 Years a Slave and Fruitvale Station made it through the first round of voting for the Gotham Independent Film Audience Award. The two titles will face off against the other top three vote-getters in the second round, with the winner to be announced at the Gotham Awards ceremony Dec. 2.

The other remaining nominees are Samantha Buck's Best Kept Secret, Ramona S. Diaz's Don't Stop Believin': Everyman' s Journey documentary for Cinedigm, and Tadashi Nakamura's Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings.

ANALYSIS: Oscar Watchers Shouldn't Read Too Much Into Gotham Awards Noms

The winner will be voted on by the independent film community and film fans worldwide.

Nominees must be a U.S. film that won an audience award at one of the top 50 U.S. or Canadian film festivals from December 2012 through October 2013.

 Thirty-six contenders were announced Oct. 24, when the Gotham Awards revealed its full slate of nominees.

First-round voting began that day and ended Nov. 5 at midnight ET. Some of the high-profile films that didn't make it to the second round are The Way, Way Back, Short Term 12, Joss Whedon's Much Ado About Nothing, new Netflix acquisitions The Short Game and The Square, How to Make Money Selling Drugs, Inequality for All and Twenty Feet From Stardom.

STORY: '12 Years a Slave' Leads Gotham Awards Nominees

From Nov. 8 at 10 a.m. to Nov. 24 at 11:59 p.m. ET, fans can vote online at http://gotham.ifp.org/audience_award.

The full list of remaining 2013 Gotham Audience Award Nominees follows:
12 Years a Slave
Steve McQueen, director; Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Bill Pohlad, Steve McQueen, Arnon Milchan, Anthony Katagas, producers
(Fox Searchlight Pictures)

PHOTOS: Exclusive Portraits of '12 Years a Slave' Star-Producer Brad Pitt and His Cast

Fruitvale Station
Ryan Coogler, director; Nina Young Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker, producers
(The Weinstein Company)
Best Kept Secret

Samantha Buck, director; Danielle DiGiacomo, producer
(Argot Pictures and P.O.V./American Documentary)
Don’t Stop Believin’: Everyman’s Journey
Ramona S. Diaz, director; Capella Fahoome Brogden, Ramona S. Diaz, producers
Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings

Tadashi Nakamura, director; Donald Young, producer
(Center for Asian American Media and PBS)