Columbia to Release '12 Years a Slave's' John Legend-Curated Soundtrack

Courtesy of Columbia Records

The album, featuring original recordings from Hans Zimmer, Alicia Keys, Alabama Shakes and more, will be available digitally on Nov. 5.

Columbia Records and John Legend are continuing their relationship, with the Sony-owned label nabbing the rights to release the Legend-curated 12 Years a Slave soundtrack.

The 16-track album, featuring original recordings from Legend, Hans Zimmer, Alicia Keys, Alabama Shakes and more, will be released digitally on Nov. 5, with the physical set becoming available on Nov. 19. Music From and Inspired by 12 Years a Slave also features a rare performance of "Roll Jordan Roll," performed by the full cast, including Chiwetel Ejiofor.

PHOTOS: '12 Years a Slave': Exclusive Portraits of Star-Producer Brad Pitt and His Cast

"12 Years a Slave is such a stunningly powerful film. I was so moved when I saw it," said Legend. "I felt every minute of it and was so inspired to contribute to the music of the soundtrack. This album brings together some incredible artists from different places and different genres who have all been touched by the film. When artists are inspired by great art, it makes us want to create. This album is the result of that inspiration."

Among the tracks featured on the album is also Legend's version of "Roll Jordan Roll," Keys' "Queen of the Field (Patsey's Song)," the Shakes' "Driva Man," Gary Clark Jr.'s "Freight Train" and a duet of "Misery Chain" from Chris Cornell and The Civil Wars' Joy Williams.

12 Years a Slave, directed by Steve McQueen, is now open in select theaters.

Columbia's G.O.O.D. imprint has released nearly all of Legend's previous offerings, including 2013's Love in the Future.

Twitter: @SophieSchillaci