13 will vie for Toronto innovation nod


TORONTO -- The Toronto International Film Festival on Tuesday named the 13 directors who will compete for the Artistic Innovation Award in September.

This year's competition includes the Afghan film "Buddha Collapsed Out of Shame" from Hana Makhmalbaf, the youngest daughter of Iranian filmmaker Mohsen Makhmalbaf, and Spanish director Jose Luis Guerin's "Dans La Ville de Sylvia," a virtually dialogue-free quest film.

Also competing for the Innovation nod are Philippine director Lav Diaz's "Death in the Land of Encantos"; Australian filmmaker Rolf de Heer's "Dr. Plonk," a black-and-white silent comedy shot with a hand-cranked camera; Anahi Berneri's "Encarnacia," from Argentina; and "M," a supernatural love story from South Korean director Lee Myung-se ("Duelist").

Rounding out the sidebar are Michelange Quay's "Mange, ceci est mon corps" (France); Lawrence Johnston's "Night" (Australia); Alexander Voulgaris' "Pink" (Greece); Christian Frosch's "Silent Resident" (Australia); Hiner Saleem's "Sous les toits de Paris" (France); Naqi Nemati's "Those Three" (Iran) and Dorota Kedzierzawska's "Time to Die" (Poland).

All 13 titles will screen as part of the Visions program and will be judged by a jury composed of Dutch multimedia artist Lonnie van Brummelen, Canadian photoconceptual artist Ian Wallace and hat designer Misa Harada.

Last year's inaugural Artistic Innovation Award went to Turkish director Ozer Kiziltan for "Takva: A Man's Fear of God," which also earned the FIPRESCI prize at the Berlin International Film Festival.

The Toronto festival runs Sept. 6-15.