20 to take home Rockefeller fellowships


Twenty emerging filmmakers and artists will be awarded a total of $700,000 in cash awards at Renew Media's 20th anniversary celebration of the Rockefeller Foundation's Media Arts Fellowships. At a ceremony set for Tuesday at the American Academy of Art in New York, two additional fellowships of $10,000 each will be given to new film and video artists. Previous recipients include Craig Brewer, Miranda July and Kenneth Anger. Renew Media, previously known as National Video Resources, is a not-for-profit organization established in 1990 by the Rockefeller Foundation.