2014 Gotham Award Nominations Revealed


Shot intermittently over 12 years, the latest film from Richard Linklater — whose Before trilogy is beloved by grown-ups the world over — offers a unique portrait of childhood and parenting, two things most grown ups have experienced! It stars the young newcomer Ellar Coltrane and frequent Linklater collaborator Ethan Hawke, as well as a notable comeback performance by veteran Patricia Arquette.

Richard Linklater's 12-years-in-the-making film 'Boyhood' received four nods, including best feature

The nominations for the 2014 Gotham Independent Film Awards were unveiled Thursday morning, with Richard Linklater's Boyhood receiving four nods, including one for best feature. Other films receiving multiple nominations included Birdman, Foxcatcher, Nightcrawler, Under the Skin and Dear White People.

Birdman and Boyhood were both nominated for the Gotham Awards' top prize of best feature, along with Wes Anderson's The Grand Budapest Hotel, Ira Sachs' Love Is Strange and Jonathan Glazer's Under the Skin.

See more 2013 Gotham Awards

Birdman star Michael Keaton and Boyhood's Ethan Hawke will also face off in the best actor category, where both were nominated along with Bill Hader for The Skeleton Twins, Oscar Isaac for A Most Violent Year and Miles Teller for Whiplash. The best actor nominating panel also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award for the ensemble performance of the three actors starring in Foxcatcher: Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo and Channing Tatum.

Boyhood also makes an appearance in the best actress category, with Patricia Arquette earning a nod. She'll face off against Gugu Mbatha-Raw for Beyond the Lights, Julianne Moore for Still Alice, Scarlett Johansson for Under the Skin and Mia Wasikowska for Tracks.

Boyhood's final nomination is in the category of breakthrough actor, with the film's young star Ellar Coltrane getting the nod The Hollywood Reporter's awards analyst Scott Feinberg predicted he would.

This year, the Gotham audience award will be determined by online voting by members of the Independent Filmmaker Project, the organization that presents the annual awards. The nominees for that category are the 15 films nominated for best feature, best documentary and the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award. Voting begins Nov. 19 at 12:01 a.m. ET and concludes on Nov. 26 at 5:00 p.m. ET.

Read more FEINBERG FORECAST: The Oscar Landscape Post-Hamptons, Pre-AFI

“Each year the Gotham Awards honor the best work from our independent storytellers and help new audiences discover their work.  We congratulate this year’s nominees, from the master film artists to the talented newcomers, a true representation of the rich and diverse range of today’s independent filmmaking,” IFP executive director Joana Vicente said in a statement. “We are grateful to our nominating committees of film critics, journalists, programmers and film curators for their dedication to selecting the nominees from so many worthy submissions.”

The Gotham Awards traditionally marks the official start of Oscar season, recognizing the best in independent film. Recent past winners have included Oscar nominees Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker. Last year's most-nominated film, 12 Years a Slave, went on to win the best picture Oscar.

The show, set for Dec. 1 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York, will also honor actress Tilda Swinton, Foxcatcher director Bennett Miller and Netflix chief content officer Ted Sarandos with previously announced tributes.

Nominees were selected by committees of film critics, journalists, festival programmers and film curators. Separate juries of writers, directors, actors, producers, editors and other filmmakers will determine the final Gotham Award recipients.

A complete list of this year's nominees follows.

Best Feature
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Alejandro G. Iñárritu, director; Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W. Skotchdopole, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Richard Linklater, director; Richard Linklater, Cathleen Sutherland, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss, producers (IFC Films)
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Wes Anderson, director; Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales, Jeremy Dawson, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Love Is Strange
Ira Sachs, director; Lucas Joaquin, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Ira Sachs, Jayne Baron Sherman, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)
Under the Skin
Jonathan Glazer, director; Nick Wechsler, James Wilson, producers (A24 Films)
Best Documentary
Robert Greene, director; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, Robert Greene, producers (The Cinema Guild)

Laura Poitras, director; Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky, producers (RADiUS, Participant Media, and HBO Documentary Films)
Life Itself
Steve James, director; Zak Piper, Steve James, Garrett Basch, producers (Magnolia Pictures and CNN Films)
Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez, directors; Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Véréna Paravel, producers (The Cinema Guild)
Point and Shoot
Marshall Curry, director; Marshall Curry, Elizabeth Martin, Matthew Van Dyke, producers (The Orchard and American Documentary / POV)
Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Ana Lily Amirpour for A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night (Kino Lorber)
James Ward Byrkit for Coherence (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
Dan Gilroy for Nightcrawler (Open Road Films)
Eliza Hittman for It Felt Like Love (Variance Films)
Justin Simien for Dear White People (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)
Best Actor*

Bill Hader in The Skeleton Twins (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)
Ethan Hawke in Boyhood (IFC Films)
Oscar Isaac in A Most Violent Year (A24 Films)
Michael Keaton in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Miles Teller in Whiplash (Sony Pictures Classics)
*The 2014 Best Actor nominating panel also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award jointly to Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, and Channing Tatum for their ensemble performance in Foxcatcher (Sony Pictures Classics).
Best Actress
Patricia Arquette in Boyhood (IFC Films)
Gugu Mbatha-Raw in Beyond the Lights (Relativity Media)
Julianne Moore in Still Alice (Sony Pictures Classics)
Scarlett Johansson in Under the Skin (A24 Films)
Mia Wasikowska in Tracks (The Weinstein Company)
Breakthrough Actor

Riz Ahmed in Nightcrawler (Open Road Films)
Macon Blair in Blue Ruin (RADiUS)
Ellar Coltrane in Boyhood (IFC Films)
Joey King in Wish I Was Here (Focus Features)
Jenny Slate in Obvious Child (A24 Films)
Tessa Thompson in Dear White People (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)

Spotlight on Women Filmmakers "Live the Dream" Grant
For the fourth consecutive year, IFP is proud present the euphoria Calvin Klein Spotlight on Women Filmmakers "Live the Dream" grant, a $25,000 cash award for an alumna of IFP’s Independent Filmmaker Labs. This grant aims to further the careers of emerging women directors by supporting the completion, distribution and audience engagement strategies of their first feature film.
The nominees are:
Garrett Bradley, director, Below Dreams
Claire Carré, director, Embers
Chloé Zhao, director, Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Disclosure: The Hollywood Reporter's film and theater critic David Rooney was on the nominating committee for the best actor and actress awards