2014 Humanitas Prize Winners Announced

AP Images
John Ridley

Ten writers were awarded monetary prizes for their contributions to film and television.

Humanitas announced the winners of the 2014 Humanitas Prize at the Beverly Wilshire on Friday.

Humanitas executive director Cathleen Young and president Ali LeRoi announced the names of the 10 winners, including 12 Years a Slave writer John Ridley, who took home a portion of the $90,000 prize. Awards were granted to writers whose films and television shows "entertain, engage and enrich the viewing public."

“We are so proud and honored to add this year’s Humanitas Prize winners to the long list of writers whose work has both entertained and inspired us for the past four decades,” Young said of the 40th Humanitas winners.

See the complete list of winners:

Feature Film Category ($10,000)
John Ridley: 12 Years A Slave

Sundance Feature Film Category ($10,000)
Damien Chazelle: Whiplash

Documentary Category ($10,000)
Ben Cotner & Ryan White: The Case Against 8

90 Minute Category ($10,000)
Larry Kramer: The Normal Heart

60 Minute Category ($10,000)
Alex Gansa and Meredith Stiehm: Homeland "The Star"

30 Minute Category ($10,000)
Elaine Ko: Modern Family “Under Pressure”

The David & Lynn Angell Fellowship in Comedy Writing ($20,000)
Nora Sullivan: St. Anthony's “Pilot” USC

The Humanitas Student Drama Fellowship ($10,000)
Emily Brochin: The Gatekeppers “Pilot” USC