'Boyhood' Named Best Picture by New York Film Critics Circle

A Director and His Star
Kendrick Kidd

"We all have that choice. Everyone thinks that they had a tough childhood, even if they came from the most privileged means, but it's tough to be a human being," says Linklater. "I wanted to portray someone who'd been dealt a hand. It wasn't a great hand, but it's the hand that he's dealt. And he handles whatever comes his way."

The film also won best director for Richard Linklater and best supporting actress for Patricia Arquette

The New York Film Critics Circle has chosen Boyhood as the best picture of 2014. The critics group voted on its annual film winners on Monday. Boyhood also won awards for best director (Richard Linklater) and best supporting actress (Patricia Arquette).

See more The Making of 'Boyhood' With Richard Linklater and Ellar Coltrane

The NYFCC named Mr. Turner's Timothy Spall as its best actor and Marion Cotillard as its best actress, for her work in Two Days, One Night and The Immigrant, which also won best cinematography. J.K. Simmons won best supporting actor for his work in Whiplash, and The Grand Budapest Hotel won best screenplay.

Last year, American Hustle was the big winner among the NYFCC, with the movie taking three awards, including best picture.

Read more Feinberg Forecast: 'Tis the Season for a Wide-Open Oscar Race

The full list of the NYFCC's 2014 winners follows.

Best Picture: Boyhood
Best Actor: Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner)
Best Actress: Marion Cotillard (for The Immigrant and Two Days, One Night)
Best Director: Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Best Screenplay: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons (Whiplash)
Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Best Animated Film: The Lego Movie
Best Cinematography: Darius Khondji (The Immigrant)
Best First Film: Jennifer Kent (The Babadook)
Best Foreign Language Film: Ida
Best Nonfiction Film (Documentary): Citizenfour
Special Award: Adrienne Mancia

Founded in 1935, the organization’s membership includes critics from daily newspapers, weekly newspapers, magazines and qualifying online general-interest publications. Every year in December, the group meets in New York to vote on awards for the previous calendar year’s films.

In addition to the regular categories, which include best picture, director, actor and actress, special stand-alone awards are given to individuals and organizations that have made substantial contributions to the art of cinema, including producers, directors, actors, writers, critics, historians, film restorers and service organizations.

The awards will be handed out in New York on Jan. 5.