Academy's Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship Winners Revealed

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences office GETTY - H 2016
David Livingston/Getty Images

The authors of the five winning screenplays will be recognized at a live read on Nov. 3.

Four individuals and one writing team have been selected as winners of the 2016 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition, it was announced Thursday.

The fellows each will receive a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at the Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Awards Presentation and Live Read on Nov. 3 at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

The 2016 winners, listed alphabetically by author, are:

Michele Atkins, Talking About the Sky (Seattle, Wash.)
Spencer Harvey and Lloyd Harvey, Photo Booth (Balgowlah, Australia)
Geeta Malik, Dinner With Friends (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Elizabeth Oyebode, Tween the Ropes (Sunnyvale, Calif.)
Justin Piasecki, Death of an Ortolan (Los Angeles, Calif.)

A total of 6,915 scripts were submitted for this year’s competition, and 11 individual screenwriters and one writing team were selected for the shortlist. Their scripts were then read and judged by the Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee, which ultimately determined the winners.

The global competition, which aims to identify and encourage new screenwriters, has awarded 147 fellowships since it began in 1986.