Academy Reveals Shortlist for Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowships

Robin Swicord Headshot - P 2012
Getty Images

Robin Swicord Headshot - P 2012

Eleven individual writers and one writing team made the cut.

Eleven individual screenwriters and one writing team, selected from a total of 6,915 submitted scripts, have been shortlisted for the 2016 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting.

The fellowships, established in 1986 to identify and encourage new screenwriters, provide each winner with a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at an awards presentation on Nov. 3 at the Academy’s Samuel  Goldwyn Theatre in Beverly Hills.

The shortlisted writers, listed alphabetically, are:

Michele Atkins, “Talking About the Sky” (Seattle, Wash.)
Josh Barkey, “Marlene the Divine” (Waxhaw, N.C.)
Beanie Barnes, “Little Toro” (New York, N.Y.)
Todd Condie, “John Wayne Slept Here” (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Spencer Harvey and Lloyd Harvey, “Photo Booth” (Balgowlah, Australia)
Geeta Malik, “Dinner With Friends” (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Danielle Ownbey, “The Blast-Off Inn” (Glendale, Calif.)
Elizabeth Oyebode, “Tween the Ropes” (Sunnyvale, Calif.)
Justin Piasecki, “Death of an Ortolan (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Michael Toner, “Hey Jude” (Van Nuys, Calif.)
Arun K. Vir, “Suburban Turban” (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Kirk Weddell, “Alone” (Wimbledon, England)

The Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee is chaired by writer Robin Swicord, with marketing executive Buffy Shutt as vice chair. The other members of the committee are: writers Tina Gordon Chism, Naomi Foner, Eric Roth, Kirsten Smith and Tyger Williams; actress Eva Marie Saint; animation director Jennifer Yuh Nelson; cinematographer John Bailey; executives Marcus Hu and Bill Mechanic; and producers Stephanie Allain, Albert Berger, Julia Chasman, Julie Lynn, Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro.