2016 CFDA Awards: The Winners

Jamie McCarthy
Donna Karan

Joel McHale served as the evening's host.

On Monday night, the Council of Fashion Designers of America held its annual CFDA Awards, celebrating the industry's most talented designers at Manhattan Center's Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City.

The evening was hosted by Joel McHale, who was joined by presenters Claire Danes, Alexander Skarsgard, and Broad City stars Ilana Glazer and Abbi Jacobson, to name a few boldfacers. 

During the ceremony, Tilda Swinton posthumously received the Board of Directors’ Tribute Award on behalf of the late David Bowie. Gucci creative director Alessandro Michele was given the International Award, while Donna Karan was honored with the Founders Award. Business of Fashion founder Imran Amed and designer Norma Kamali were among the evening's recipients of the Media Award and Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, respectively.

See the complete list of the 2016 CFDA Fashion Award winners below. The names of the winners are shown in red.

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Aurora James for Brother Vellies
Gigi Burris
Paul Andrew

Swarovski Awards for Womenswear:
Brandon Maxwell
Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim for Monse
Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Rio Uribe for Gypsy Sport
John Elliott
Alex and Matthew Orley for Orley

Accessories Designer of the Year:
Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra
Irene Neuwirth
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel
Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year:
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School
David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra
Marc Jacobs
Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
Laura and Kate Mulleavy for Rodarte
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row