Watch the Gotham Awards Live Stream

Keegan-Michael Key_Gotham Awards onstage - Getty - H 2016
Getty Images

Keegan-Michael Key is hosting the annual show, taking place Monday night in New York.

The 2016 Gotham Independent Film Awards are being handed out Monday night at Cipriani Wall Street in New York.

Kenneth Lonergan's Casey Affleck starrer Manchester by the Sea received a leading four nominations, including one for best feature, where it faces off against Certain Women, Everybody Wants Some!!, Moonlight and Paterson. Moonlight's ensemble cast will also receive a special Gotham jury award and is up for best screenplay, giving the A24 film three nominations. Paterson also received three nominations with the following movies receiving two nominations each: Certain Women, The Fits, Hell or High Water, Love & Friendship, Loving and The Witch. Those totals don't include the audience award, voted on by IFP members from the films nominated for best feature, best documentary and breakthrough director.

For the second year in a row the Gotham Awards also will hand out two awards for breakthrough TV and web series. Breakthrough TV series nominees include Louis C.K.'s self-distributed Horace and Pete, The CW's Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Starz's The Girlfriend Experience, and Netflix's Master of None and Jessica Jones.

In addition to the competitive awards, previously announced tributes also will be given to actors Amy Adams and Ethan Hawke, director Oliver Stone and industry tribute recipient, producer and New Regency founder and chairman Arnon Milchan. The New York City Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment will also receive a special appreciation award, celebrating the 50th anniversary of New York City's Office of Film, Theatre and Broadcasting. NYC Film Commissioner Julie Menin and Deputy Mayor Alicia Glen will accept the honor and then present two "Made in NY" awards to Aziz Ansari (Master of None) and Judith Light (Transparent).

The Gotham Awards ceremony and red-carpet arrivals at the awards show, traditionally seen as the official kickoff of Oscar season, will be live-streamed below.

The red-carpet portion begins at 6:30 p.m. ET, hosted by Employee of the Month's Catie Lazarus, followed by the awards show, hosted by Keegan-Michael Key, at 8 p.m. ET.