Satellite Award Nominees Revealed

Why It Took 31 Tries to Get the La La Land Theme Song Just Right -Publicity- H 2016
Courtesy of Dale Robinette/LIONSGATE

The International Press Academy will hand out its awards on Feb. 19.

Placing as many bets as possible, the International Press Academy on Tuesday announced its nominations for its 21st annual Satellite Awards. It nominated 12 movies for best motion picture, a list that encompasses La La Land, Moonlight, Manchester by the Sea, Lion, Jackie, Hacksaw Ridge, Loving, Hell or High Water, Nocturnal Animals, Captain Fantastic, Hidden Figures and Fences.

Best director nominees include Moonlight’s Barry Jenkins, Manchester’s Kenneth Lonergan, Hacksaw’s Mel Gibson, La La Land’s Damien Chazelle, Animals’ Tom Ford, Jackie’s Pablo Larrain and Fences’ Denzel Washington.

For best motion picture actor, the IPA named Manchester’s Casey Affleck, La La Land’s Ryan Gosling, Snowden’s Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Captain Fantastic’s Viggo Mortensen, Loving’s Joel Edgarton, Hacksaw’s Andrew Garfield, Sully’s Tom Hanks and Fences’ Washington.

Best actress nominees encompass 20th Century Women’s Annette Bening, La La Land’s Emma Stone, Jackie’s Natalie Portman, Loving’s Ruth Negga, Hidden FiguresTaraji P. Henson, Florence Foster Jenkins’ Meryl Streep, Elle’s Isabelle Huppert and Animals’ Amy Adams.

The IPA, which is comprised of international journalists, will announce winners in 19 film categories, 12 TV categories and assorted BluRay/DVD and video game categories at a ceremony on Feb. 19.

The org also announced a series of special awards: Its Mary Pickford Award will be presented to Edward James Olmos; its Tesla Award to John Toll; its Auteur Award to Tom Ford; its Humanitarian Award to Patrick Stewart; its Best First Feature Award to Russudan Glurjidze for House of Others; and its Best Ensemble Motion Picture Award to Hidden Figures.

For a complete list of nominees, see