Michael Ian Black to Host WGA N.Y. Ceremony

Gilbert Carrasquillo/FilmMagic

The 2016 Writers Guild Awards will be handed out at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and L.A. on Feb. 13.

Michael Ian Black has been named host of the 2016 Writers Guild Awards' New York ceremony, it was announced on Tuesday.

The guild also revealed a number of presenters for this year's show: Tituss Burgess (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt), Sam Esmail (Mr. Robot), Tony Goldwyn (Scandal), Armando Iannucci (Veep), Brian Koppelman (Billions), David Levien (Billions), Margo Martindale (The Americans, The Good Wife), Michael McKean (Better Call Saul), Annette O’Toole (Halt and Catch Fire), Emmy Rossum (Shameless), John Slattery (Mad Men, Spotlight), Alan Zweibel (Saturday Night Live) and more.

“As the screenwriter of the straight-to-DVD 2006 release Wedding Daze, I can think of no better person to host the 2016 Writers Guild Awards than myself,” Black said in a statement. “I am thrilled to be celebrating the written word, as well as shilling my new book, Navel Gazing: True Tales of Bodies, Mostly Mine (but Also My Mom’s. Which I Know Sounds Weird), in this press release.”

Black began his career as co-creator of MTV's The State and went on to co-create Viva Variety, Stella and Michael and Michael Have Issues, all for Comedy Central. He starred in the 2001 movie Wet Hot American Summer and its recent Netflix prequel series First Day of Camp. Black is currently part of the cast of Comedy Central's Another Period and TV Land's The Jim Gaffigan Show.

The Writers Guild of America is set to announce its theatrical and documentary screenplay nominations on Wednesday, with its videogame writing nominations to follow on Monday, Jan. 11. The WGA announced its TV, new media, radio, news, promotional writing and graphic animation nominees last month.

Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.) and writer-director Richard LaGravenese will both be honored at the WGA's N.Y. ceremony. Awards will be handed out simultaneously at that event and one in L.A. on Saturday, Feb. 13.