Spirit Awards: Robert Eggers Wins Best First Screenplay for 'The Witch'

The 32nd annual ceremony took place in Santa Monica on Saturday.

Robert Eggers, screenwriter of The Witch, won best first screenplay at the Independent Spirit Awards.

"Wow, that was a surprise," he said at the podium, before joking, "I want to thank my wife, who had to be around for four years while I was obsessed with witches."

He beat out Chris Kelly (Other People), Adam Mansbach (Barry), Stella Meghie (Jean of the Joneses) and Craig Shilowich (Christine) to take home the award.

John Mulaney and Nick Kroll hosted the 32nd annual Independent Spirit Awards, which took place in Santa Monica Saturday afternoon.