Kyra Sedgwick, Josh Charles, Nico Tortorella Set for Broadway's 24 Hour Plays (Exclusive)

Kyra Sedgwick, Josh Charles, Nico Tortorella - Getty - H 2017

Lola Kirke, Christina Ricci, Lois Smith and Jackie Cruz are also among the actors in the Oct. 30 event.

Kyra Sedgwick, Josh Charles, Nico Tortorella, Lola Kirke, Christina Ricci, Lois Smith and Jackie Cruz are among the cast of this year’s 24 Hour Plays, The Hollywood Reporter has learned exclusively.

Also participating in the annual event — to be held Oct. 30 at Broadway’s American Airlines Theatre — are Justice Smith, Raul Castillo, Jennifer Esposito, Noah Galvin, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Nina Hellman, Cush Jumbo, Mia Katigbak, Russell G. Jones, Orlando Pabotoy, Jeremy Shamos, Jonathan Marc Sherman and Yul Vasquez.

On the creative side, the directors include May Adrales, Warren Leight, Patricia McGregor, Jessica Stone and Kate Whoriskey. The writing team includes Fernanda Coppel, Chisa Hutchinson, David Lindsay-Abaire, Martyna Majok and Molly Smith Metzler. This year’s musical guest is Shaina Taub. Additional cast and creative team members will be announced in the coming weeks.

The intensive theatrical endeavor challenges participants to write, direct and perform six original plays within 24 hours. Proceeds from the one-night-only performance of the works benefit the company’s programming, including The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals (a professional intensive for young artists) and The Lilly Awards Foundation's work supporting women in theater and promoting gender parity. As previously announced, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Marsha Norman will be honored as part of the organization’s partnership with The Lilly Awards.

“We are thrilled to announce the first round of actors, writers and directors for this year, made up of original and fearless voices,” said Mark Armstrong, executive director of The 24 Hour Plays, in a statement. “In keeping with our celebration of The Lilly Awards and Marsha Norman, this year’s performance particularly highlights extraordinary female artists from theater, film and television.”