30 Seconds to Mars to Release New Single in Space

30 Seconds to Mars Love Lust album art P

The band teams up with NASA to launch "Up in the Air," from the forthcoming album "Love Lust Faith + Dreams."

Thirty Seconds to Mars has announced that its fourth studio album, Love Lust Faith + Dreams, will be released on May 21 through Virgin Records. The arena-rock group also has grand plans for debuting the first single.

"Up in the Air" is exactly where the band's eagerly anticipated new single can be found. In an improbable team-up with NASA, the first copy of the new single was recently launched into space via a SpaceX cargo mission, where it will first be played by astronauts orbiting 230 miles above Earth on the International Space Station at midnight GMT.

PHOTOS: 20 Best and Worst Music to Movie Crossovers 

Before that, frontman Jared Leto and the rest of the band will be on hand at Mission Control Houston to field fan-submitted questions. The whole spectacle can be streamed live at NASA's official website from 1:10 to 1:25 PM EST. For those down on Earth, the single premiered on radio on Monday morning and will hit all digital retailers at midnight.

Love Lust Faith + Dreams is Thirty Seconds to Mars' first studio album since 2009's This Is War, which produced the hit singles "This Is War" and "Kings and Queens" and has sold 460,000 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan. The album artwork is credited to artist Damien Hirst and is part of his "Spot Paintings" series.

STORY: 30 Seconds to Mars Documentary Wins People’s Choice Award at Toronto

The group -- comprised of Leto, Shannon Leto and Tomo Milicevic -- wrote and recorded Love Lust Faith + Dreams in Europe, India and California, and production was handled by Jared Leto and Steve Lillywhite. Previously, Thirty Seconds to Mars supported This Is War with a massive arena tour, playing over 300 shows across the globe.

See the track list to Love Lust Faith + Dreams below:

1. Birth
2. Conquistador        
3. Up In The Air
4. City Of Angels
5. The Race
6. End Of All Days
7. Pyres Of Varanasi
8. Bright Lights
9. Do Or Die
10. Convergence      
11. Northern Lights
12. Depuis Le Début

Twitter: @Billboard