38th Student Academy Awards Recognize 15 Honorees

Jennifer Garner, John Musker and Edward Zwick served as presenters at Saturday's event.

Tal S. Shamir of New York's The New School, Zach Hyer of New York's Pratt Institute, Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang of California's Academy of Art University, Wongjung Bae of Chicago's Columbia College, Julian Higgins of the American Film Institute and Hallvar Witzo of the Norwegian Film School were among the winners of the 38th annual Student Academy Awards, which were handed out Saturday night.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented prizes to 15 students at the ceremonies at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Actress Jennifer Garner, animator John Musker and producer Edward Zwick served as presenters at the awards, along with Academy president Tom Sherak.

A complete list of the 2011 winners follows:

Alternative category
Gold Medal: The Vermeers, by Tal S. Shamir, The New School, New York

Animation category
Gold Medal (tie): Correspondence, Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York; and Dragonboy, Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang, Academy of Art University, California
Bronze Medal: Defective Detective, Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida

Documentary category
Gold Medal: Vera Klement: Blunt Edge, Wonjung Bae, Columbia College Chicago Silver Medal: Imaginary Circumstances, Anthony Weeks, Stanford University
Bronze Medal: Sin Pais (Without Country), Theo Rigby, Stanford University

Narrative category
Gold Medal: Thief, Julian Higgins, American Film Institute, California
Silver Medal: High Maintenance, Shawn Wines, Columbia University
Bronze Medal: Fatakra, Soham Mehta, University of Texas at Austin

Foreign Student Film category
Gold Medal: Tuba Atlantic, Hallvar Witzo, The Norwegian Film School, Norway
Silver Medal: Bekas, Karzan Kader, Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts,
Bronze Medal: Raju, Max Zaehle, Hamburg Media School, Germany