63 films qualify for foreign Oscar category


The animated film "Persepolis," from France, Denys Arcand's "Days of Darkness" from Canada, Johnnie To's "Exiled" from Hong Kong and Cristian Mungiu's Palm d'Or winner "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" are among the 63 films that have qualified for Oscar consideration in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences' foreign language film category.

The record number of 63 entries include first-time submissions from Azerbaijan (Farid Gumbatov's "Caucasia") and Ireland (Tom Collins' "Kings").

Nominations for the 80th Academy Awards will be announced Jan. 22, and the Oscars will be handed out Feb. 24.

The complete list follows:

Argentina, "XXY," Lucia Puenzo, director; Australia, "The Home Song Stories," Tony Ayres; Austria, "The Counterfeiters," Stefan Ruzowitzky; Azerbaijan, "Caucasia," Farid Gumbatov; Bangladesh, "On the Wings of Dreams," Golam Rabbany, Biplob; Belgium, "Ben X," Nic Balthazar; Bosnia and Herzegovina, "It's Hard to Be Nice," Srdan Vuletic; Brazil, "The Year My Parents Went on Vacation," Cao Hamburger; and Bulgaria, "Warden of the Dead," Ilian Simeonov.

Canada, "Days of Darkness," Denys Arcand; Chile, "Padre Nuestro," Rodrigo Sepulveda; China, "The Knot," Yin Li; Colombia, "Satanas," Andi Baiz; Croatia, "Armin," Ognjen Svilicic; Cuba, "The Silly Age," Pavel Giroud; Czech Republic, "I Served the King of England," Jiri Menzel,director; Denmark, "The Art of Crying," Peter Schonau Fog; Egypt, "In the Heliopolis Flat," Mohamed Khan; and Estonia, "The Class," Ilmar Raag.

Finland, "A Man's Job," Aleksi Salmenpera; France, "Persepolis," Marjane Satrapi, Vincent Paronnauds; Georgia, "The Russian Triangle," Aleko Tsabadze; Germany, "The Edge of Heaven," Fatih Akin; Greece, "Eduart," Angeliki Antoniou; Hong Kong, "Exiled," Johnnie To; Hungary, "Taxidermia," Gyorgy Palfi; Iceland, "Jar City," Baltasar Kormakur; India, "Eklavya – The Royal Guard," Vidhu Vinod Chopra; Indonesia, "Denias, Singing on the Cloud," John De Rantau; Iran, "M for Mother," Rasoul Mollagholipour; Iraq, "Jani Gal," Jamil Rostami; Ireland, "Kings," Tom Collins; Israel, "Beaufort," Joseph Cedar; and Italy, "The Unknown," Giuseppe Tornatore.

Japan, "I Just Didn't Do It," Masayuki Suo; Kazakhstan, "Mongol," Sergei Bodrov; Korea, "Secret Sunshine," Chang-dong Lee; Lebanon, "Caramel," Nadine Labaki; Luxembourg, "Little Secrets," Pol Cruchten; Macedonia, "Shadows," Milcho Manchevski; Mexico, "Silent Light," Carlos Reygadas; The Netherlands, "Duska," Jos Stelling; Norway, "Gone with the Woman," Petter Naess; Peru, "Crossing a Shadow," Augusto Tamayo; Philippines, "Donsol," Adolfo Alix, Jr.; Poland, "Katyn," Andrzej Wajda; Portugal, "Belle Toujours," Manoel de Oliveira; and Puerto Rico, "Love Sickness," Carlitos Ruiz, Mariem Perezs.

Romania, "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days," Cristian Mungiu; Russia, "12," Nikita Mikhalkov; Serbia, "The Trap," Srdan Golubovic; Singapore, "881," Royston Tan; Slovakia, "Return of the Storks," Martin Repka; Slovenia, "Short Circuits," Janez Lapajne; Spain, "The Orphanage," J.A. Bayona; Sweden, "You, the Living," Roy Andersson; Switzerland, "Late Bloomers," Bettina Oberli; Taiwan, "Island Etude," Chen Huai-En; Thailand, "King of Fire," Chatrichalerm Yukol; Turkey, "A Man's Fear of God," Ozer Kiziltan; Uruguay, "The Pope's Toilet," Enrique Fernandez, Cesar Charlones; Venezuela, "Postcards from Leningrad," Mariana Rondon; and Vietnam, "The White Silk Dress," Luu Huynh.