8 honored with cinematographer awards


The International Cinematographers Guild presented its newly rebranded Emerging Cinematographer Awards Sunday at the DGA theatre. Several hundred attended the presentation and reception.

This year's honorees are: Brian O'Carroll (for the film "Cherry Bloom"), Christopher Johnson ("Common Practice"), Darren Genet ("The Death Strip"), Tim Bellen ("Ed Meets His Maker"), Michael Alba ("History For Kids"), Hilda Mercado ("La Primavera"), Jozo Zovko ("The Morning Fog") and Cameron Duncan ("Year of the Dog").

"Cinematography at its best can transport us into a different time and place, even into the beginning of being a different person," said ICG president Steven Poster during his welcome remarks.

"This event is something that (past ICG president) George Spiro Dibie started many years ago and that (event chair) Rob Kositchek, Jr. has been involved in from the beginning," he said of the annual presentation, now in its 11th year, which was previously branded as a Filmmakers Showcase.

"We are growing," Poster added. "We are getting more influential. We are bringing more people in. We are helping more people get started."

The 2007 recipients were selected through judging panels consisting of cinematographers, camera operators and assistants based in the Midwest and the East and West Coasts. The honored work was screened during the presentation.