Academy Awards Nicholl Fellowships to Five Writers

Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences AMPAS Logo - H 2012

Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences AMPAS Logo - H 2012

The prizes, worth $35,000 each, will be awarded at a dinner Nov. 8 in Beverly Hills.

Five writers have been selected as winners of the 2012 Academy Nicholl Fellowships, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Thursday.

The are: Nikole Beckwith of Brooklyn, N.Y. for the screenplay Stockholm, Pennsylvania; Sean Robert Daniels, Laezonia, Gauteng, South Africa, Killers; James DiLapo, New York, N.Y., Devils at Play; Allan Durand, Lafayette, La., Willie Francis Must Die; and Michael Werwie, L.A., Ca., Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil and Vile.

Each writer will receive a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on Nov. 8. The winners were selected from a record 7,197 submissions.

The Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee is chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd and includes writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie, Jr., Tom Rickman and Dana Stevens; actor Eva Marie Saint; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven B. Poster; costume desinger Vicki Sanchez; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; marketing executive Buffy Shutt; and agent Ronald R. Mardigian.