Academy Board Elects Cinematographer John Bailey President

Rodrigo Vaz/FilmMagic
John Bailey

He will succeed outgoing president Cheryl Boone Isaacs.

John Bailey was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences tonight by the organization’s board of governors.

Bailey is a board member representing the cinematographers' branch, where he is currently serving his fourteenth year on the board. Elected to a non-salaried one-year term, he will succeed Cheryl Boone Isaacs, who has stepped down from the Academy’s board after serving as president for the maximum number of four consecutive one-year terms allowed.

Bailey, whose credits range from Ordinary People and American Gigolo through The Big Chill, Groundhog Day and, more recently, A Walk in the Woods, emerged as a surprise contender at tonight’s board meeting. Heading into the election, the leading candidates were expected to be actress Laura Dern, documentary filmmaker Rory Kennedy and casting director David Rubin. In 2014, Bailey received the American Society of Cinematographers Lifetime Achievement Award.

As president, Bailey will serve alongside Academy CEO Dawn Hudson, who oversees the organization’s day-to-day business and its staff of 350.

Other officers all elected to one-year terms at tonight's board meeting include Lois Burwell, first vp, who will also serve as chair of the Awards and Events Committee; Kathleen Kennedy, vp and chair of the Museum Committee; Michael Tronick, vp and chair of the Preservation and History Committee; Nancy Utley, vp and chair of the Education and Outreach Committee; Jim Gianopulos, treasurer and chair of the Finance Committee; and Rubin, secretary and chair of the Membership and Administration Committee.

Board members may serve up to four consecutive one-year terms in a post, and Gianapulos, Kennedy, Rubin and Utley were all re-elected to posts they had previously held. Burwill and Tronick are serving their first stints as Academy officers.

comments powered by Disqus