Academy: Cheryl Boone Isaacs Reelected as President

Cheryl Boone Isaacs Executive Suite - H 2014
Aaron Fallon

Cheryl Boone Isaacs Executive Suite - H 2014

UPDATE: While the marketing executive has won her second, one-year term as head of the organization, Jeffrey Kurland was elected first vice president.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs has been re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s board of governors. Boone Isaacs, who represents the publicists branch on the board, won a second one-year term Tuesday night as the board held its annual elections of officers. Under the Academy’s rules, officers may serve as many as four successive one-year terms, subject to their reelection.

PHOTOS Hollywood's 100 Favorite Films

Jeffrey Kurland, who represents the newly formed costume designers branch, was elected first vice president. He had previously served as one of the two vice presidents and succeeds John Lasseter, who is no longer on the board, having served nine years and termed out.


Leonard Engelman, of the makeup and hairstylists branch, was reelected to one of the two vp posts; the other was claimed by John Bailey of the cinematographers branch. Dick Cook, a member of the executives branch and former Disney chief, was re-elected treasurer, and Bill Kroyer, of the short films and feature animation branch, was elected secretary, where he will succeed Phil Robinson of the writers branch.


Boone Isaacs, a marketing executive who has served stints at Paramount and New Line, became the first African-American to head the 87-year-old Academy and only the third woman to serve as president when she was first elected to the post last year. Actress Bette Davis held the job for just two months in 1941, and screenwriter Fay Kanin served for four years from 1979-83. 


As president, Boone Isaacs serves as the public face of the Academy -- taking part in the annual Oscar nominations announcements and also appearing on the annual Academy Awards telecast. She's already put next year's show, which will take place on Feb. 22, in motion with the announcement that Craig Zadan and Neil Meron will produce for the third year in a row.

By reelecting Boone Isaacs as well as several of the other officers, the Academy is maintaining a steady course. The board previously voted in May to grant CEO Dawn Hudson, who oversees its day-to-day activities, a three-year contract renewal.