Academy decrees latest Sci-Tech honors

Awards to be handed out Feb. 7

Four Scientific and Technical Awards will be handed out at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' Sci-Tech dinner Feb. 7 at the Beverly Wilshire.

A technical achievement award in the form of an Academy certificate will be given to Steve Hylen for his work developing the Hylen Lens System, an aerial image device that can produce a variety of optical effects on set and in real time.

Scientific and engineering awards in the form of Academy plaques will be awarded to:

-- Erwin Melzner for the overall concept including the optical and cooling systems, Volker Schumacher for the optical design and Timo Muller for the mechanical design of the Arrimax 18/12 lighting fixture.

-- Jacques Delacoux for the concept/electronic design and Alexandre Leuchter for software/ electronic design of the Transvideo video-assist monitors.

-- Bruno Coumert and Jacques Debize for the optical design and Dominique Chervin and Christophe Reboulet for the mechanical design of the compact and lightweight Angenieux 15-40mm and 28-76mm zoom lenses.
comments powered by Disqus