Academy Elects New Board of Governors Members

The Academy Awards Statue and Sign - H 2012
Getty Images

The Academy Awards Statue and Sign - H 2012

As a result of its annual election, Albert Berger, Daniel Fellman and Kate Amend will join the board.

Producer Albert Berger, an Oscar nominee for Nebraska, Warner Bros. distribution executive Daniel Fellman and documentary filmmaker Kate Amend, who served as film editor on the Oscar-winning Into the Arms of Strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport, are joining the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Also joining the board as first-time governors are Bob Rogers, a two-time Academy Award nominee for best live action short film, who will represent the short films and feature animation branch, and Mark Mangini, a three-time nominee for sound editing, who will rep the sound branch.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs, who currently serves as Academy president, was re-elected to another three-year term on the board as a representative of the publicists branch. That makes her eligible to run for another one-year term as Academy president when elections for new officers are held next month. Jeffrey Kurland,  who serves as vp, was re-elected for another term representing the costume designers branch, and Phil Robinson, who holds the office of Academy secretary, was re-elected as a governor of the writers branch. 

Also re-elected are Annette Bening, actors; Lora Kennedy, casting directors; Rick Carter, designers; Michael Tronick, film editors; and Kathryn Blondell, makeup artists and hairstylists.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are governors Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers; Edward Zwick, directors; Charles Bernstein, music; and Bill Taylor, visual effects.

The Academy's 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

The current governors who were not up for re-election and continue on the board are Ed Begley Jr. and Tom Hanks, actors; David Rubin and Bernard Telsey, casting directors; John Bailey and Dante Spinotti, cinematographers; Deborah Nadoolman Landis and Judianna Makovsky, costume designers; Jim Bissell and Jan Pascale, designers; Kathryn Bigelow and Michael Mann, directors; Rob Epstein and Alex Gibney, documentary; Dick Cook and Amy Pascal, executives; Mark Goldblatt and Lynzee Klingman, film editors; Bill Corso and Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Charles Fox and Arthur Hamilton, music; Mark Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy, producers; Rob Friedman and Nancy Utley, public relations; Jon Bloom and Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Scott Millan, sound; Richard Edlund and John Knoll, visual effects; and Bill Condon and Robin Swicord, writers.