'Franklin & Bash's' Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Breckin Meyer To Host 33rd College Television Awards

Mark-Paul Gosselaar Breckin Meyer - P 2012
Getty Images

Mark-Paul Gosselaar Breckin Meyer - P 2012

The Television Academy Foundation will also honor HBO with its Innovation in Television Award.

The Television Academy Foundation is officially announcing on Monday that TNT’s Franklin & Bash stars Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Breckin Meyer will host its 33rd Annual College Television awards. In addition, the organization has named HBO as this year’s recipient of its Innovation in Television Award.

Gosselaar and Meyer will host the gala and awards ceremony to be held at Hollywood’s Renaissance Hotel on March 31. And HBO’s president of programming Michael Lombardo will accept the award for the premium cable network.

“The College Television Awards has become a premier industry event in Hollywood, paving the way for future innovators in the television community,” Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation executive director Norma Provencio Pichardo says. “We couldn’t be more proud to share the evening with Mark-Paul, Breckin, and our friends at HBO.”

The Innovation in Television Award honors HBO’s slate of programming, which the TV Academy Foundation feels sets a high bar for young content producers.

“Our goal is to support programs like the College Television Awards which empower emerging, young producers by granting them access to the tools, knowledge and mentoring necessary for a bright future in the Industry,” HBO’s Lombardo says. “We have been long supporters of the Television Academy Foundation, and being recognized by them is a great honor.”

The Television Academy Foundation’s College Television Awards honors excellence in college student produced video, digital and film production. Annually, hundreds of students from across the country submit their work over 12 categories. Industry professionals judge the entries and the nominees are invited to the Los Angeles gala for the awards presentation.