Academy names Nicholl finalists

Screenwriting fellowship given to as many as five scribes

Thirteen writers have been selected as finalists for the 23rd annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

A total of 5,224 scripts were submitted for this year's competition, which is open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000 or received a fellowship or prize that includes a first look clause, an option or any other quid pro quo involving the writer's work.

The Academy's Nicholl Committee will award as many as five $30,000 fellowships.

The finalists are Jeremy Bandow, "Hive"; Griffin Broadway, "An Arabian Tale"; Nancy Froeschle and Stephen Trow, "The Greater Glory"; Patricia Ann Hale, "The Home of Positive Thinking"; Christina D. Hammonds Reed, "Heart Problems"; Ken Kristensen and Colin Marshall, "Out of Breath"; Jason A. Micallef, "Butter"; Eric Nazarian, "Giants"; Lee Patterson, "Snatched"; and Becky Peterson and William Bryant, "Ross."