Academy Reveals Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting Winners

The $35,000 prizes will be presented at a Nov. 7 event, which will include readings from the chosen screenplays directed by Rodrigo Garcia.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has awarded Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting to four individual writers and one writing team.

The winners, listed alphabetically by author, are Frank DeJohn & David Alton Hedges of Santa Ynez, Calif., for their screenplay Legion; Patty Jones of Vancouver, B.C., for Joe Banks; Alan Roth of Suffern, N.Y., for Jersey City Story;
 Stephanie Shannon of Los Angeles, for Queen of Hearts; and 
Barbara Stepansky of Burbank, Calif., for Sugar in My Veins.

Each winner will receive a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at an awards presentation on Nov. 7 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.  For the first time, the event also will feature a live reading of selected scenes from the fellows’ winning scripts. Rodrigo Garcia is directing the event, which will include members of the actors’ branch and which will be produced by Julie Lynn and supported by Lexus.

The winners were selected from a record 7,251 submitted scripts. 

Fellowships are awarded with the understanding that the recipients each will complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year. The Academy acquires no rights to the works of Nicholl fellows and does not involve itself commercially in any way with the completed scripts.

The Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee, chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd, is composed of writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie Jr., Tom Rickman, Eric Roth, Dana Stevens and Robin Swicord; actor Eva Marie Saint; cinematographer John Bailey; costume designer Vicki Sanchez; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; marketing executive Buffy Shutt; and agent Ronald R. Mardigian.