Academy taps Boone Isaacs


Cheryl Boone Isaacs, a governor of the public relations branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, has been elected president of the Academy Foundation, the Academy's educational and cultural arm. It will be her first term as president.

Other officers chosen this week are executives branch governor Robert Rehme, who was elected vp, and film editors branch governor Donn Cambern, who was re-elected vp. Music branch governor Charles Bernstein was elected treasurer, and current Academy president Sid Ganis was re-elected secretary. Academy exec director Bruce Davis remains executive secretary of the foundation.

Academy Foundation trustees are elected annually by the board of governors. Foundation trustees for 2007–08 are Bernstein, Jon Bloom (short films and feature animation Branch), James L. Brooks (writers), Cambern, Caleb Deschanel (cinematographers), Ganis, Jim Gianopulos (executives), J. Paul Huntsman (sound), Isaacs, Fay Kanin (writers), Kevin O'Connell (sound), Frank Pierson (writers), Rehme, Tom Sherak (executives), Bill Taylor (visual effects) and Henry Winkler (actors).

Established in 1942, the Academy Foundation presents film programs throughout the year, including the "Great to Be Nominated" and "Oscar's Docs" series. It also conducts the annual Student Academy Awards and Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competitions and operates the Margaret Herrick Library and Academy Film Archive.