Academy: Cheryl Boone Isaacs Re-Elected to 4th Term as President

Cheryl Boone Isaacs Executive Suite - H 2014
Aaron Fallon

Cheryl Boone Isaacs Executive Suite - H 2014

The board of governors held its annual officer elections on Tuesday evening.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs has once again been re-elected president of the Academy Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the Oscar-granting group’s board of governors. Meeting on Tuesday evening at Academy headquarters in Beverly Hills, the newly elected board voted to give Boone Isaacs a fourth one-year term as president of the organization.

Under Academy rules, officers, who are elected from among the 54-person board, can serve as many as four consecutive one-year terms in one of the officer roles. Boone Isaacs — a marketing executive who currently heads her own consulting company, CBI Enterprises, and who has served executive stints at New Line and Paramount — sits on the board as one of the representatives of the publicists’ branch.

As president, Boone Isaacs serves as the public face of the Academy, taking part in the annual Oscar nominations announcement and appearing on the Academy Awards telecast. Day-to-day operations at the Academy are overseen by CEO Dawn Hudson.

As the first African-American to head the Academy and only the third woman — following in the footsteps of actress Bette Davis, who held the job for just two months in 1941, and screenwriter Fay Kanin, who served four years from 1979-1983 — Boone Isaacs has set about diversifying the ranks of the organization.

In June, the Academy extended invitations to a record 683 new members, 46 percent of whom were female and 41 percent people of color.

One of Boone Isaacs' first orders of business following her re-election will be lining up a producer or producing team to take on the next Academy Awards show, scheduled for Feb. 26.

The other officers elected were Jeffrey Kurland, first vp and chair of the awards and events committee; John Baily, vp and chair of the preservation and history committee; Kathleen Kennedy, vp and chair of the museum committee; Nancy Utley, vp and chair of the education and outreach committee; Jim Gianopulos, treasurer and chair of the finance committee; and David Rubin, secretary and chair of the membership and administration committee.