Adam Levine's Label to Release Soundtrack to His Film Debut 'Begin Again'

Getty Images

The movie is from writer/director John Carney, the man behind the 2006 indie hit "Once."

Maroon 5 frontman and The Voice star Adam Levine’s 222 Records has formed a distribution partnership with Interscope Records that kicks in with the release of the soundtrack to Begin Again, from writer/director John Carney, the man behind the surprise 2006 indie hit Once.

PHOTOS: 'The Voice' Season 6 Finale in Photos

Begin Again, in which Levine takes his first starring role, features songs co-written by Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois, Glen Hansard and others, performed by Levine, Cee Lo Green and the film's co-star, Keira Knightley. The soundtrack will be released July 1 on ALXNDR/222/Polydor/Interscope. The film, from the Weinstein Co., opens in Los Angeles and New York on June 27 and goes wide July 11.

In Begin Again, Levine plays a budding pop star signed to a major label; Knightley is his songwriting girlfriend. She is convinced to record some of her songs with a washed-up producer-label owner portrayed by Mark Ruffalo.

Levine founded 222 Records in 2012, and its roster includes Rozzi Crane, who collaborated with Maroon 5 on the first Hunger Games soundtrack. Crane will be the first new artist to release an album under the new 222 Records/Interscope Records partnership.

STORY: Tribeca: 'Begin Again' Stars Keira Knightley and Adam Levine Talk Challenges of Singing, Acting 

In addition, 222/Interscope will release Maroon 5’s fifth studio album, V, on Sept. 2. Maroon 5 was previously signed to A&M/Octone, which Interscope Geffen A&M wholly acquired last year.

Jordan Feldstein manages Levine, Maroon 5 and Robin Thicke.

Track listing:

1.  "Lost Stars" - Adam Levine

2.  "Tell Me If You Wanna Go Home" - Keira Knightley

3.  "No One Else Like You" - Adam Levine

4.  "Horny" - Cee Lo Green

5.  "Lost Stars" - Keira Knightley

6.  "A Higher Place" - Adam Levine

7.  "Like a Fool" - Keira Knightley

8.  "Did It Ever Cross Your Mind" (demo version) - Cessyl Orchestra

9.  "Women of the World" (Go on Strike!) - Cee Lo Green

10. "Coming Up Roses" - Keira Knightley

11. "Into the Trance" - Cessyl Orchestra

12. "A Step You Can’t Take Back" - Keira Knightley

13. "Lost Stars" (Into the Night Mix) - Adam Levine (*Deluxe)

14. "The Roof Is Broke" (Demo Mix) - Cessyl Orchestra (*Deluxe)

15. "Tell Me If You Wanna Go Home" (Rooftop Mix) - Keira Knightley and Hailee Steinfeld (*Deluxe)

16. "Intimidated by You" - Cessyl Orchestra (*Deluxe)

This article originally appeared on