ADG Hall of Fame inducting five members

Posthumous honor recognized at Feb. 14 ceremony

The Art Director's Guild will induct five legendary production designers into its Hall of Fame next year.

The posthumous honors will go to John Meehan, Ted Haworth, Mac Johnson, Romain Johnston and Harold Michelseon. They will be recognized at the guild's 13th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards ceremony Feb. 14 in Beverly Hills.

The Hall of Fame recognizes the achievements of artists who create and evolve art direction for the moving image.

"This continues to be a proud moment for our guild as we look to the past so we may build the bridges to our future," guild chair Thomas A. Walsh said. "Their creative legacy continues to inspire and challenge all of those who have chosen the art of production design as their profession, and it is appropriate that we honor their memory through their induction into the ADG Hall of Fame."

Meehan, who died in 1963, is a three-time Oscar winner who started his career in 1945 and served as art director on 19 films. He earned his statues for "The Heiress" (1949), the classic "Sunset Boulevard" (1950) and "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" (1954).

Johnson was an architect before moving over to art direction, working on classic films including "Gone With the Wind" and "The Wizard of Oz." He was nominated for an Academy Award six times, winning in 1949 for "Portrait of Jennie." Johnson, who died in 1990, is well-known for his work as art director on the Alfred Hitchcock classic "Rear Window."

Haworth's first film was on Hitchcock's "Strangers on a Train," followed by the sci-fi classic "Invasion of the Body Snatchers." His film credits include "Some Like It Hot" and "The Longest Day." He shared an Oscar win in 1958 with Robert Priestley for the film "Sayonara." The New York Times called it "a richly colorful film ... shown in colors of exceptional taste and blend."

Johnston was a legend in variety show and musicals, winning three Emmys and nominated an additional 10 times. He started in art direction in 1961 with the TV series "Number Please," and went on to win Emmys for work on "The Mac Davis Show," "The Sentry Collection Presents Ben Vereen: His Roots" and "Pryor's Place." In 1978 alone, Johnston, who died in 1995, earned three Emmy noms in the variety/musical category.

Michelson, who died in 2007, was a two-time Oscar nominee and was honored with the Art Director's Guild Lifetime Achievement Award in 1999. He began his career as an illustrator for Columbia Pics before moving to Paramount. His work includes 1956's "The Ten Commandments" and 1959's "Ben-Hur," as well as "Cleopatra" (1963) and "Fiddler on the Roof" (1971). His nominations were for 1979's "Star Trek: The Movie" and 1983's "Terms of Endearment."