ADG sets stage for design awards


The Art Directors Guild has unveiled the nominees for its 12th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, set for Feb. 16 at the Beverly Hilton.

The nominees for a period film are Arthur Max for "American Gangster," Sarah Greenwood for "Atonement," Guy Hendrix Dyas for "Elizabeth: The Golden Age," Dante Ferretti for "Sweeney Todd" and Jack Fisk for "There Will Be Blood."

Vying for contemporary film honors are Peter Wenham for "The Bourne Ultimatum," Michel Eric and Laurent Ott for "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," Carlos Conti for "The Kite Runner," Kevin Thompson for "Michael Clayton" and Jess Gonchor for "No Country for Old Men."

The fantasy film competitors are Dennis Gassner for "The Golden Compass," Rich Heinrichs for "Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End," Harley Jessup for "Ratatouille," James Bissell for "300" and Stuart Craig for "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix."

Craig — a three-time Academy Award winner — will receive this year's ADG Lifetime Achievement Award.

In the television categories, nominees for a single-camera series are Ruth Ammon for "Heroes," Zack Grobler for "Lost," Dan Bishop for "Mad Men," Michael Wylie for "Pushing Daisies" and Mark Worthington for "Ugly Betty."

Bernard Vyzga earned a pair of noms for multicamera series, for "Back to You" and "Rules of Engagement." His competition is Stephan Olson for "How I Met Your Mother," John Sabato for "Mad TV" and John S. Shaffner for "Two and a Half Men."

Nominees for television movie or miniseries are Marek Dobrowolski for "The Company," Tom Meyer for "PU 239" and Tracey Gallacher for "The Starter Wife."

John Shaffner and Joe Stewart earned dual noms in the awards show, variety, music or nonfiction program category, for the for the 59th Primetime Emmy Awards and 2007 American Music Awards. They'll face Steve Bass for the 49th annual Grammy Awards, John R. Janavs for Episode 301 of "Hell's Kitchen" and Bruce Rodgers for the Super Bowl XLI halftime show.

In commercials, Tom Foden received two nominations, for a Barclays spot and HBO promo. He'll go up against Ramsey Avery for the "Bee Movie" trailer, Jeremy Reed for a Budweiser ad and Floyd Albee for a Lexus spot.

As announced, visual effects pioneer Ray Harryhausen will receive ADG's Outstanding Contributions to Cinematic Imagery Award, and ADG will induct production designers Edward Carfagno, Stephen Grimes, Dale Hennesy, James Trittipo and Lyle R. Wheeler into its Hall of Fame.