AFI Fest Hands Out Audience Awards to 'With Every Heartbeat,' 'Bullhead'


Julia Loktev's "The Loneliest Planet" receives the Grand Jury Prize.

As AFI Fest 2011 drew to a conclusion Thursday in Hollywood, the festival handed out four audience awards.

Alexandra-Therese Keining’s Swedish-language romantic drama With Every Heartbeat won the audience award for a film appearing in the fest’s Breakthrough Section, while Michael R. Roskam’s Bullhead, from Belgium, was the audience winner from the New Auteurs Section.

The World Cinema Section produced a tie, with audience awards going to David Gelb’s Jiro Dreams of Sushi and Alrick Brown’s Kinyarwanda.

Clay Liford’s Wuss, about a high school teacher who joins forces with one of his students to fight back against those who have ridiculed them, was the audience winner in the Young Americans Section.

A panel of international critics chose the festival’s New Auteurs Section Critic’s Prize. The Grand Jury Prize went to Julia Loktev’s The Loneliest Planet. A special jury prize was awarded to Attenberg, directed by Athina Rachel Tsangari. And Matthias Schoenaerts of Bullhead earned the Acting Award Prize.