AFI Fest Reveals Jury and Audience Award Winners

Red Army Cannes Film Still - H 2014
Festival de Cannes

Red Army Cannes Film Still - H 2014

Gabe Polsky's documentary 'Red Army' claims the World Cinema Audience Award Prize

Gabe Polsky's Red Army, a documentary about the Russian hockey team that faced off against an eventually victorious Team USA at the 1980 Winter Olympics, claimed the World Cinema Audience Award as AFI Fest, which concludes tonight, announced its winners at its annual awards brunch.

Audience awards also were presented to Alonso Ruizpalacios' Gueros in the New Auteurs category and Carlos Marques-Marcet's 10,000 KM in the American Independents category. The Breakthrough Audience Award went to Sarah Adina Smith's Midnight Swim, about three half-sisters caught up in both a ghost story and a family drama.

Grand Jury Awards were bestowed on Shira Geffen's Self Made (Boreg), which received the New Auteurs Critics Award, and to Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy's The Tribe (Plemya), which received the Vizio Visonary Special Jury Award for its visual storytelling.

The complete winners list follows:

New Auteurs Critic’s Award: SELF MADE (BOREG). DIR Shira Geffen. Israel.

VIZIO Visionary Special Jury Award: THE TRIBE (PLEMYA). DIR Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy. Ukraine.

Special Jury Mention for Screenwriting: GÜEROS. SCR Alonso Ruizpalacios, Gibran Portela. Mexico.

Special Jury Mention for Cinematography: VIOLET. CIN Nicolas Karakatsanis. Netherlands, Belgium

Grand Jury Prize for Live Action Short: BUFFALO JUGGALOS by Scott Cummings

Grand Jury Prize for Animated Short: YEARBOOK by Bernardo Britto.

Special Jury Prize for Collection: David O'Reilly for CHILDREN's SONG, NDA and WRONG NUMBER

Special Jury Prize for Breakthrough Filmmaker: Joe Callander for GARY HAS AN AIDS SCARE

Special Jury Prize for Vision: Kevin Jerome Everson for SOUND THAT

Special Jury Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Direction: Morgan Knibbe for SHIPWRECK

World Cinema Audience Award: RED ARMY. DIR Gabe Polsky. USA, Russia.

New Auteurs Audience Award: GÜEROS. DIR Alonso Ruizpalacios. Mexico.

American Independents Audience Award: 10,000 KM. DIR Carlos Marques-Marcet. Spain, USA

Breakthrough Audience Award: THE MIDNIGHT SWIM. DIR Sarah Adina Smith. USA.