AFTRA names primetime committee members

National president Roberta Reardon to serve as chair

AFTRA's administrative committee, meeting Wednesday, formally appointed members to its Joint Waging and Working Conditions National Plenary Committee and Negotiating Committee, which will be chaired by AFTRA national president Roberta Reardon.

The names of the other members of the Joint W&W committee, selected at the administrative committee's monthly meeting, were not announced, as is AFTRA policy.

Reardon also reported to the administrative committee that she has spoken with SAG president Ken Howard about creating a "President's Forum" to facilitate discussions between the two leaders about merging their respective unions.

The forum, she said, would provide an opportunity for each union head to invite key leaders from within each union to participate in informal, but focused, discussions.

It is expected that the informal discussions would continue through the end of 2011, given upcoming contract negotiations for the AFTRA and SAG Non-Broadcast/Industrial/Educational Contracts, which expire April 30, and the months-long wages and working conditions meetings and negotiations planned for AFTRA's Network Television Code, which expires Nov. 15.