Gotham Awards: Al Gore, Jason Blum Set for Tributes

Matthias Nareyek/Getty Images; Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic

The independent film awards, seen as the official start of Oscar season, will be handed out on Nov. 27.

Former Vice President Al Gore and low-budget horror mastermind Jason Blum will receive the humanitarian and industry tributes at this year's Gotham Independent Film Awards, it was announced Monday.

The humanitarian tribute recognizes an individual who has had a profound, transformative global impact through film. Nobel Prize-winner Gore, who in recent years has focused on finding solutions to climate change, starred in the Oscar-winning An Inconvenient Truth and this year's follow-up, An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power.

The industry tribute is given to an individual whose vision, innovation and contributions have had a significant impact on the film and TV business. As the founder of Blumhouse Productions, Blum has produced more than 70 films and numerous TV projects. The movies Blum produced this year include the box-office and critical successes Split, from M. Night Shyamalan, and Get Out, from Jordan Peele. Blum is a two-time Emmy winner who was nominated for an Oscar for producing Whiplash.

“We are thrilled to be presenting Vice President Al Gore with the humanitarian tribute and Jason Blum with the industry tribute,” Joana Vicente, executive director of the Independent Filmmakers Project, which presents the Gotham Awards, and the Made in NY Media Center, said in a statement. “Mr. Gore’s urgent message on the dangers of climate change has been heard and seen around the globe, motivating individuals, communities, businesses, and world leaders to take action, reminding us of the power of cinema and its ability to affect change. Jason Blum has shown the industry how creative and innovative models that support smart, original filmmakers- and produced with an economy of means  can be a potent force in connecting with audiences and achieving popular success.”


Additional tribute recipients will be announced in the coming weeks. Past Gotham Awards honorees include Oliver Stone, Amy Adams, Ethan Hawke, Arnon Milchan, Robert Redford, Helen Mirren, Todd Haynes, Steve Golin, Matt Damon, Natalie Portman, Charlize Theron, Kate Winslet, Bennett Miller, Richard Linklater, Spike Lee, David O. Russell, Ted Sarandos, Jeff Skoll, Tom Rothman, James Schamus and Bob and Harvey Weinstein.

The Gotham Awards traditionally marks the official start of Oscar season, recognizing the best in independent film. Recent previous winners have included Oscar nominees and winners Moonlight, Spotlight, Birdman, Boyhood, Citizenfour, Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker.

The 2017 Gotham Awards will be handed out on Monday, Nov. 27, at New York's Cipriani Wall Street. Nominations will be announced on Oct. 19.