Alex Gibney, Laura Poitras, Geralyn Dreyfous to be Honored at IDA Documentary Awards

Getty Images
Alex Gibney

The 29th annual event will take place at the Directors Guild in Los Angeles on Friday, Dec. 6.

Filmmaker Alex Gibney, producer Geralyn Dreyfous and filmmaker Laura Poitras will be honored at the International Documentary Association's 2013 Documentary Awards, it was announced Wednesday.

The 29th annual event will take place at the Directors Guild in Los Angeles on Friday, Dec. 6.

Gibney will receive the 2013 Career Achievement Award. The prolific filmmaker's latest works profiled two controversial figures -- cyclist Lance Armstrong in The Armstrong Lie and media figure Julian Assange in We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks. Gibney's 2007 film Taxi to the Dark Side won an Oscar for best documentary feature, an Emmy for outstanding individual achievement in research, a best director nomination from the DGA and a Writers Guild Award for best screenplay.

FILM REVIEW: We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks

Previous recipients of this award include Barbara Kopple, Errol Morris, Michael Moore and Werner Herzog.

Dreyfous will be presented with the Amicus Award. Her executive producing and producing credits include the Academy Award-winning Born Into Brothels (2004), the Academy Award-nominated The Invisible War (2012), the Emmy-nominated The Day My God Died (2003) as well as 2013’s The Square and The Crash Reel. She is also the co-founder of the Impact Partners Film Fund, an organization that brings financiers and filmmakers together to create documentaries focused on social change.

This award has been given only three other times in the 29-year history of the IDA Documentary Awards, to Michael Donaldson, John Hendricks and Steven Spielberg.

Poitras will receive IDA’s Courage Under Fire Award, in recognition of “conspicuous bravery in the pursuit of truth.” Poitras broke the story of NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden. She is working now on completing a trilogy of films about America post 9/11. The first film, 2006's My Country, My Country, was nominated for an Academy Award, Independent Spirit Award and Emmy Award.  The second film, 2010's The Oath (2010), received a Gotham Award for best documentary and the Sundance Film Festival Award for Excellence in Cinematography for Documentaries. The third film of the trilogy, a documentary about NSA surveillance, is currently being edited.

Jonathan Stack and James Brabazon, Andrew Berends, Saira Shah and Christiane Amanpour are past recipients of this award.

A full list of nominees for the IDA Documentary Awards will be announced in late October with winners announced at the IDA Documentary Awards Gala on Dec. 6.