Amandla Stenberg to Be Honored at TrevorLIVE Gala With Youth Innovator Award

Amandla Stenberg attends the 2018 MTV Movie And TV Awards -makeup- Getty-H 2018
Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images

Other honorees of the night include Ryan Murphy and the 'Pose' cast as well as AT&T Mobility & Entertainment president David Christopher.

The Trevor Project will honor Amandla Stenberg with the Youth Innovator Award at the TrevorLIVE gala Dec. 2.

The Hate U Give actress will receive the award for her commitment to supporting the nonprofit’s mission to provide crisis intervention services and end suicide among LGBTQ people.

“I’m so profoundly honored to be recognized by The Trevor Project, an organization I admire and whose work is so critical,” Stenberg said. “Now, more than ever, it’s crucial that LGBTQ youth have a safe space where they can find a sense of being when they feel lost or alone.”

Alongside Stenberg, AT&T Mobility & Entertainment president David Christopher will accept the 20/20 Visionary Award on behalf of AT&T. The company is being honored for its commitment to The Trevor Project and its history of support for the LGBTQ community. In 1975, AT&T was one of the first American companies to prohibit discrimination against employees based on sexual orientation and in 2006, it was one of the first companies to offer transgender-inclusive health-care benefits.

“I’m proud to accept this award on behalf of AT&T,” Christopher said. “At AT&T, we strongly believe in equality for all and The Trevor Project’s life-saving work. Together we’ve been able to do something meaningful by expanding support for at-risk LGBTQ youth. As more and more of us join together in support of The Trevor Project, we will continue to truly make a difference.”

The organization announced previously that it would honor Ryan Murphy and the cast of Pose at the upcoming gala. The showrunner and cast will receive the Hero Award for featuring the largest transgender series-regular cast and the largest LGBTQ cast ever for a scripted series.

The ceremony will be hosted by Eugene Lee Yang at the Beverly Hilton. Superstore's Nico Santos and Lauren Ash will make a special appearance during the program.