American Music Awards: Demi Lovato, Nick Jonas to Perform

John Shearer/Invision/AP
Demi Lovato and Nick Jonas

Walk the Moon will also hit the stage during the Nov. 22 awards ceremony.

Nick Jonas, Demi Lovato and Walk The Moon are the latest additions to the bill for the 2015 American Music Awards.

They join previously announced performers 5 Seconds of Summer, Selena Gomez, One Direction, Carrie Underwood and the night’s host, Jennifer Lopez.

ABC will air the AMAs live from Los Angeles' Microsoft Theater on Nov. 22.

The annual gala has been a happy hunting ground for Jonas in the past. He won the breakthrough artist award in 2008 as part of the Jonas Brothers and he performed with the group on two separate occasions (2007 and 2008). This year he’s nominated for the first time as a solo artist for favorite male artist — pop/rock, and he’ll be delivering his first solo appearance at the show.

Lovato and Walk the Moon will perform at the AMAs for the first time. The indie rock group is also nominated for the first time this year, in the categories new artist of the year, favorite duo or group — pop/rock and favorite artist — alternative rock. 

Taylor Swift is the most nominated artist at this year's awards with six, though The Weeknd, Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith, Nicki Minaj and Meghan Trainor aren't far behind. AMAs nominees are based on key fan interactions as reflected in Billboard Magazine and on, including album and digital singles sales, radio airplay, streaming, social activity and touring. These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its data partners, including Nielsen Entertainment and Next Big Sound.

Also, the AMAs and Twitter are launching custom Twitter emojis for all performers. To activate the emojis, tweet the following hashtags: #NickJonasAMAs (for Jonas), #DemiOnAMAs (for Lovato) and #WTMonAMAs (for Walk the Moon).

The American Music Awards are produced by Dick Clark Productions, a sister company of The Hollywood Reporter and Billboard. Allen Shapiro and Mike Mahan are executive producers. Larry Klein, Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco are producers.

Voting for the AMAs is open at

This article originally appeared on