American Music Awards: Green Day Blasts Donald Trump During "Bang Bang" Performance

Green Day - ama - Getty - H - 2016
Christopher Polk/AMA2016/Getty Images for dcp

Lead singer Billie Joe Armstrong tweaked the lyrics, chanting: "No Trump, no KKK, no fascist USA."

Green Day hit the American Music Award stage on Sunday night.

Yet again, the trio rocked the stage and brought their distinct punk rock sound and attitudes to the cheering audience. The band clearly voiced their opinion of the election results, with lead singer Billie Joe Armstrong singing and repeating, "No Trump, no KKK, no fascist USA."

That was a nod to Trump's endorsement by the KKK and the rise in racist attacks and graffiti since the Republican's victory (not to mention the appointment of Steve Bannon, a man with a history of pandering to white supremacists, to his White House cabinet).

After releasing their 12th studio album, Radio Revolution in October, the band took the stage at the 2016 AMAs to perform "Bang Bang." The performance marks the group's second AMA appearance after they played "21 Guns" in 2009. 

Green Day won the AMA for favorite alternative artist in 2005 and 2009 and favorite pop/rock album in 2005 for American Idiot.

Other artists scheduled to perform during the show are Justin Bieber, Niall Horan, Maroon 5 and Kendrick Lamar, James Bay, Fifth Harmony, Lady Gaga, John Legend, Bruno Mars, Shawn Mendes, Twenty One Pilots, The Weeknd, special duets from The Chainsmokers and Halsey, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj, and the American Music Award of Merit honoree and performer Sting.

The nominations for the fan-voted awards show, produced by Dick Clark Productions, were revealed earlier this month. Drake leads with a record 13 noms, while Rihanna has seven and Adele and Justin Bieber each have five. Beyonce and The Chainsmokers follow closely behind with four and Bryson Tiller, Twenty One Pilots, Carrie Underwood, Fetty Wap and the Weeknd each have three. Keep up with the latest winners here.

The 2016 American Music Awards show, airing on ABC, is executive produced by Allen Shapiro and Mike Mahan, with Larry Klein, Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco serving as producers.

Joe Lynch of Billboard contributed to this report.