American Society of Cinematographers Announces Nominations

“True Grit”
Wilson Webb/Paramount Pictures


Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon on horseback. The Coen brothers film is Bridge’s sixth Western and Damon’s third.

"True Grit's" Roger Deakins earns his ninth career nom.

The American Society of Cinematographers has given Roger Deakins the ninth ASC feature film nomination of his career for his work on the Western True Grit.

His fellow nominees, which the ASC announced Monday, are Matthew Labatique for Black Swan, Wally Pfister for Inception, Danny Cohen for The King's Speech and Jeff Cronenweth for The Social Network.

Highly regarded by both cinematographers and film connoisseurs alike, Deakins won ASC awards for 1994's The Shawshank Redemption and 2001's The Man Who Wasn't There.

Deakins, who last year also served as visual consultant on the animated movie How to Train Your Dragon, has received eight Oscar nominations for his cinematography, including two in 2008 when he was nominated for both the Coen brothers' No Country for Old Men and The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. But he has yet to take home the Oscar itself.

In addition to his nomination for the Coens' True Grit, he is scheduled to be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 25th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, which will be held Feb. 13 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Pfister's nomination for Inception is his third ASC nom. He also was nominated for two other films from director Christopher Nolan: Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.

Cohen, Cronenweth and Libatique are all first-time ASC nominees.

The five movies recognized with ASC noms differed slightly from the five films that secured nominations from the Directors Guild of America on Monday. The DGA did not include True Grit in its list but instead included The Fighter, which failed to earn an ASC nom.