AMPAS adds to its roster


MPAA chairman and CEO Dan Glickman, Time Warner president and chief operating officer Jeff Bewkes and Paramount Pictures president Gail Berman are among the 120 filmmakers and executives who have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Those tapped this year also include such recent nominees as "Walk the Line's" Joaquin Phoenix, "Brokeback Mountain's" Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal and "Transamerica's" Felicity Huffman, as well as best supporting actress Oscar winner Rachel Weisz ("The Constant Gardener").

The Academy's voting membership generally hovers just below the 6,000 mark; at the time of the 78th Annual Academy Awards this year, the official count stood at 5,798. With deaths and members who opt for retired (nonvoting) status drawing down the group's membership list each year, the Academy is allowed to grow by a maximum of 30 new members annually.

"Two years ago the Academy decided to slow membership growth, and to become even more selective in choosing members," Academy president Sid Ganis said. "Instead of inviting every proposed person who has achieved the minimum qualifications for his or her branch, the membership committees are selecting the most exceptionally qualified names from those lists."

While Oscar nominations do not automatically ensure nominees will be invited to become Academy members, if nominees are not already members, they are considered by the appropriate committee from each of the Academy's 14 branches. This year, 39 of the invitees were 2005 nominees, and eight of them won Oscars.

The committees also consider candidates who are proposed either by the committees themselves or by two current members of a branch.

New members will be welcomed into the club at a reception Sept. 20 at the Academy's Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills.

The full list of this year's invitees includes:

Actors Amy Adams, Eric Bana, Maria Bello, Dakota Fanning, Gyllenhaal, Terrence Howard, Huffman, Keira Knightley, Ledger, Hayley Mills, Barry Pepper, Phoenix, Jon Polito, Ving Rhames, Liev Schreiber, David Strathairn and Weisz.

Animators Wayne Allwine, Mark Andrews, Steve Box, John Canemaker, Will Finn, Rex Grignon, Andrew Jimenez, Tim Johnson and Hayao Miyazaki.

At-large Grover Crisp, Louis D'Esposito, Glickman, Steve Papazian and David Young.

Casting directors Sarah Halley Finn and Randi Hiller.

Cinematographers Lance Acord, Paul Cameron, Cesar Charlone, Denis Lenoir, Wally Pfister, Roberto Schaefer, Sandi Sissel, Tom Stern and Salvatore Totino.

Costume designers Jacqueline Durran and Janty Yates.

Directors Werner Herzog, Nicole Holofcener, Gavin Hood, Bennett Miller and Mark Waters.

Documentarians Paola di Florio, Alex Gibney and Hubert Sauper.

Executives Berman, Bewkes, Colin Callender, Andrew E. Cripps, Hal Gaba, Elizabeth Gabler, Douglas Mankoff, Michael Paseornek, Paul Schaeffer, Jonathan Sehring and Michael J. Werner.

Film editors Tom Finan, Wayne Wahrman and Hughes Winborne.

Live-action short filmmakers: Pia Clemente, Martin McDonagh and Rob Pearlstein.

Makeup-hairstylists Lance Anderson and Nick Dudman.

Musicians Harry Gregson-Williams, Alberto Iglesias, Dario Marianelli and Dolly Parton.

Producers Albert Berger, Bill Kong, Tom Luddy, Gail Mutrux, Diane Nabatoff, Cathy Schulman, Jennifer Todd, Robert K. Weiss and Ron Yerxa.

Production designers/art directors Mark Friedberg, Sarah Greenwood, Tom Reta, Melissa Stewart and Tom Wilkins.

Public relations execs Andre Caraco, Mary Murphy Conlin, Steve Elzer, Barbara Glazer, Rick Lynch and Steven T. Miller.

Scientific and technical specialists James Beshears, Lanny Raimondo and Kenneth S. Williams.

Set decorator Trisha Edwards and Victor Zolfo.

Sound editors Ulrika Akander, Anthony (Chic) Ciccolini III, Eugene Gearty, Michael Semanick and Renee Tondelli.

Visual effects Jim Berney, Pablo Helman, Jeffrey M. Kleiser, Michael Meinardus, William F. "Bill" Shourt, Dan Taylor, Bill Tondreau and Bill Westenhofer.

Writers Noah Baumbach, Jeffrey Caine, Jean-Claude Carriere, Dan Futterman, Tony Kushner, Bobby Moresco and Josh Olson.